Middle School cross country boys win third straight conference championship

Coach Jeanne Pullen
On a cloudy, breezy, chilly, beautiful (for cross country!) afternoon, the CA MS boys three-peated as conference champs! Way to go Chargers!
The afternoon started off with the Co-ed Open race. Charlie Eheman was the overall winner of the boys’ race in 11:10 and was closely followed in by Derek Wang, Adam Zhang, Mordecai Mengesteab, Ike Ugwa, Ian Chen and Fred O’Brien – CA’s boys took the top seven spots in the race! Congratulations to all of our Charger runners in the Open, you did a phenomenal job!
The Girls’ Championship race followed. Our girls ran hard over the hilly, wooded course. Ava O’Brien was our first CA girl to cross the finish line in 12:31. She was soon followed by Maddie Alvarez (12:47), Maggie Su (13:31) and Mirella Digiulio (13:50). The girls field had tough competition and though our girls ran their best, Franklin Academy won the Girls Conference Championship, with CA finishing 7th out of the 10 conference teams.
The Boys’ Championship race was the last race of the afternoon. Our top seven boys ran to defend our Conference Championship wins from the last two seasons; it was a close race with excellent competition from several other teams. Our boys took four of the top 10 places: Blair Mitchell finished 2nd overall with a time of 10:09 and was the first Charger across the line. Kevin Kaufman finished 4th in 10:22, Jacob Farris was 5th in 10:30, Ben Holton was 9th at 10:40 and Evan Astrike-Davis rounded out CA’s top five in 19th place with a 10:58.
Everyone held their breath as the team scores were announced; it was a VERY close race, but the Chargers edged out 2nd place Magellan 39-to-43 to capture our third consecutive conference championship! What a great way to wrap up the 2019 season!
1500 N. Harrison Avenue, Cary, NC 27513  |   919.677.3873
Comitted to Discovery, Innovation, Collaboration & Excellence.
© 2019-20 Cary Academy. All Rights Reserved.